Pages

Showing posts with label diabetic. Show all posts
Showing posts with label diabetic. Show all posts
Wednesday, 4 November 2015

Diabetes Awareness Month




As some may know, I was diagnosed with pregnancy diabetes while pregnant with Emilee. My body was working 4 times as hard being pregnant that my pancreas wasn't able to produce as much insulin as I needed.

I was diagnosed at 26 weeks pregnant. I went into hospital to do the glucose tolerance test, which basically I had to drink a bottle of lucazade and get my blood tested every hour for three hours to see how my sugar levels were. I obviously failed. LOL

It was a complete shock to me, I cried, a lot! I didn't tell anyone for a while because I felt I made it happen. But I didn't, I didn't eat too much sugar or too much carbs, my body was just working too hard to make sure Emilee was getting all she needed.

I tested my sugars at home 7 times a day, thankfully I didn't need insulin as the strict diet was doing enough to stabilise my sugars.

The diet wasn't a complete change in my lifestyle, it was strictly no sugar and less carbs. Instead of white bread I would eat brown, instead of potatoes I would eat handful of baby potatoes. Even fruit was limited! i was only allowed a handful of fruit, so I could only eat whatever fit in one hand for example two kiwis.

Did you know that only one can of coke can  a day increase your chances of developing diabetes by 20%

I was warned about having a big baby but Emilee measured small up until 35 weeks, where think she catch up with her weight. She weighted 8pounds 3oz which to me wasn't big at all compared to her big brother who weighted 8pounds 10oz?!?! I think haha!!

After she was born, she had her bloods tested after every feed, my breast milk didn't have enough sugar for her blood sugars to even out so I ended up having to give her formula to regulate them, which I kept on doing until she was weened off the boob at 9 weeks old :)

The doctors told me to keep up with the diet as I still could have diabetes but honestly I went straight to get a jam doughnut as I was craving it so badly!!! some things are very sweet to me, as I didn't have sugar for so long!

12 weeks after given birth i was given an appointment to do a repeat glucose test, which again involved drinking a bottle of lucazade and getting my blood drawn after two hours.

Last week i got the result back, and thankfully I am diabetes free!! but if i decide to have another baby the chances are high that i will have pregnancy diabetes again, and I've also a 50/50 chance of developing type 2 diabetes in the future. So with that I will have to test once a year to see if I've developed diabetes or not.

Honestly, I had no symptoms what so ever!! But diabetes can be very dangerous if not diagnosed! it would be a good idea to get tested once a year if it does run in the family or if you experience any symptoms such as;
constantly thirty, increase in hunger, tiredness, blurred vision, frequent urination...
(As I'm writing this, it honestly sounds like pregnancy symptoms)

Diabetes is nothing to be joked about, or laughed at. People with diabetes are normal people but need help with insulin. Weather they inject or on medication, its a very serious matter.

for more information on Diabetes, please check out www.diabetes.ie

Thanks for reading
Aisling xo

Wednesday, 24 June 2015

Bumpdate - How i'm feeling!!

Guess who's finally "Full Term" ??
ME!!

Ahh can't believe I'm 37weeks! (well 37 weeks and 4 days.. the 4 days count LOL) Which basically means the baby can come any day now! 
Scary but SO exciting!

With every twinge or pain, My thoughts are "Is this it? Is this labour?" Haha! 
Im going crazy with just waiting around, I know the baby will come when its ready but OMG I want to meet this baby NOW! Like i'm seriously about to write a eviction notice ;)

So I thought i'd do something different than my usual Bump Update and just write how I'm feeling just off the top of my head!

Being so heavily pregnant is not the most glamorous look you can be LOL, I'm just at the stage where I want to be in loose airy clothes, no make-up and hair up in a bun and just lounge all day!

I'm usually at home most of the time, my energy levels are so low and its so hard to walk up and down the stairs LOL! I'm really feeling the weight of the baby this week, and with that its hard to walk or stand for long periods of time. I had the same thing with Kayden and he was 8 pounds. So I'm really expecting this baby to be a big baba aswell!

I've actually lost a lot of weight. Im lighter than I was pre-pregnancy weight! Which I was so surprised because I'm always hungry haha!

My belly has grown so much in the last week! Which my back is feeling all of it! And I've also got myself a little "Waddle" haha! So embarrassing but hey, it comes with being pregnant so I'm just going to embrace it ;)

Sleeping is so hard lately! I can barely turn in the bed (Myself and my mam had a little giggle about it) Im constantly getting up for bathroom breaks!
But a huge thing is that my feet are just constantly roasting? Its so weird! Like they are so warm ALL the time that i can't even wear socks! Walking on the tiles is the only relief i have haha!

Kayden is a gem for me lately! He knows the baby is coming soon, and none stop asking questions about the baby! He is just the easiest toddler right now and I'm so grateful for that! All he does is ask for something and I do it for him (If I can manage)
Of course he has his moments where he whinges and cries but he gets over it fast! 

Cravings are not as extreme! I do have the sweet cravings that I can't have!
but a new one is the feeling of brushing my teeth? and taste of the toothpaste haha.

But yeah, My bags are completely packed and ready to go! 
Im running out of patience and just about being done with being pregnant LOL!
But so thankful that I've made it to 37 weeks. With all the things that happened during this pregnancy, all I wanted was to make it to 37weeks and yay we've done it :D!

I've no idea if this baby will come early or not, My GP thinks I won't make it to 40 weeks! but you never know! 

I was 4/5 days over with Kayden! So I'm pretty sure il be over again :)
Well? if everything goes well with the scan tomorrow! which il talk about next week :)

Thanks for reading!
Aisling xo






Monday, 8 June 2015

35 week bumpdate!

How far along? 35 weeks & 3 days :D
Weight Gain: Pretty much haven't gained anything this pregnancy. I'm putting it all down to the diabetes, My weight is levelling out really. I'd loss a pound or two but the next week I would gain it back. The doctor really isn't concerned as the baby is growing and has a good heart beat. 
Maternity clothes: NOT looking forward to when the hot weather comes in.. (I say 'when' as its Ireland and we never know when the sun will be out haha) I'm loving the cool rainy weather as I'm already warm just wearing a tee and trackies. Im doomed for hot weather haha
Stretch marks? Found a new one just starting, Its at the spot where the baby kicks the most :)
Sleep: Nope. None. Nada. :'(
Best moment this week: Im ashamed to say... Home and away is back on TV :D Haha! 
Miss anything? Lying down without being struck hard with heartburn LOL! Its so bad lately, especially during night-time. Im living on rennies!!!
Any movement? Baby movement have slowed down a bit! I feel more stretches rather than kicks! I do think the baby has started to engage as I feel so much pressure, the movements are around my belly button instead of near my ribs lately! and I can feel hiccups right above my pubic bone! 
Cravings: Vicks & firelighters!!!! Vicks give me more of a relax feeling when i smell it (WEIRD) but its something I need to smell at night? I really can't explain it because it sounds so weird haha! I've also wanted cheerios and chocolate sponge cake with choc frosting & 
I CANT HAVE IT :( :(
sickness? Im feeling a little nausea lately for some reason. I assume its just my body getting ready for the birth. But the gagging is back at some foods or even just out of no where. I could cough and gag after? But i haven't physically got sick! 
Gender: We will know in 5 weeks :D:D
Labour Signs: I'm in so much pain :( Just even walking, I can feel the baby so so so low! I think my belly has dropped, or even just the baby because i've noticed the baby isn't propping its butt out above my belly button. I can push my hand where it used to be and feel the baby lower, much lower! Ive been cramping a lot lately, but nothing to be worried about! 
Symptoms: Heartburn, as usual LOL
Belly button in or out? In!
Happy or moody most of the time: Ahhh, a bit hormonal I have to say. Ive gotten to the point of just wanting to meet this baby!!! even thought i've nothing ready for the baby!!
Looking forward to: getting everything ready and set for the baby! I've really dragged it on at this stage so time to get my butt in action and sort out the house and my bags :) Things are moving quickly and i'm sure the next 5 weeks are going to fly :) 

I'm not looking forward to next week though! Pietro is away for work and I'm just praying this baby stays put until he's back LOL!
We also have a big scan in two weeks that will determine if i have to be introduced or not. So it could turn out that this baby will be here in the next two weeks or everything will be fine and the baby will come when its ready :) I'm a bit of a nervous wreck at the moment! 
Also the diabetes seems to be going okay, I don't need to go back to the diabetics clinic until I'm 39 weeks!! :)

AND I finally got a return date to go to the hospital, Honestly this pregnancy, the hospital has screwed up so much!! they are all over the place! but at least i'll see my pumpkin soon :)

Thanks for reading
Aisling xo
Monday, 4 May 2015

The countdown is on :')

How far along? 30weeks :) Cant believe there is only 10 weeks left!! Its so crazy how fast this pregnancy is going!
Weight gain: Still no weight gain, but pretty sure these last ten weeks il pack on the pounds :)
Maternity clothes: Yes, wearing them all the time, feeling a bit huge these days :(
Stretch marks? No new ones as of what i can see anyways ;)
Sleep: Sleep has gone completely out the window theses day.. Im so uncomfortable at night time. Tossing and turning all night PLUS the bathroom trips!!! Ugh i just want comfort :P
Best moment this week: So last week, after all the stress from the doctors i was finally told the baby is going great :D Im in such relief and just so happy to hear that. Even my blood works came back normal! My diabetes is under control and they are happy with what I'm doing :) So far so good :) fingers crossed it stays that way!
Miss anything? SLEEP! :P
Any movement? So I've noticed this week, that I'm not getting kicked as much.. its more like  body movements than kicks. So i feel a random foot or hand.. Or even the baby turning! My belly goes crazy. I just love it :D
Food cravings: no food cravings.. but my smell is gone so crazy! everything smells so GOOD!! Ugh, a friend in college was cleaning and my god i wanted to drink the stuff, it smelt amazing!
sickness? Nope :)!
Gender: Haha, i might swell get rid of this since were leaving it a surprise :)
Labour signs: Nope, just feeling a ton of pressure. nothing to be concern about since it was the same with Kayden :)
Symptoms: my energy has seemed to of disappeared :( So tired, and napping doesn't help either! Heartburn is a major issue :( !!
Belly button in or out? In!
Happy or moody most of the time: A little stress from college but I'm usually in a good mood :)
Looking forward to: relaxing :) On the go with college work and I've only 3 weeks left :( I'm starting to get upset of the thought of leaving... :'(

Fingers crossed the next hospital appointment isn't going to be as dramatic as the last ;) Will update then :)

Thanks for reading
Aisling xo
Monday, 20 April 2015

Gestational Diabetes

Looking at this blank page and have no idea where to start...

About three weeks ago I was sent to do a glucose tolerance test, basically I had to get my blood drawn, then drink a bottle of lucazade in five minutes, come back in an hour to get blood drawn again, and then an hour after get blood taken again.

This was to test if my body had developed Gestational Diabetes.

About a week later, I got a phone call from a nurse saying that the Diabetic Doctor would like to see me due to my sugar levels being a tad high...

I was in shock! I honestly didn't feel any different or have any symptoms what-so-ever!!

So I went to Mullingar Hospital, Due to some amount of confusion and me getting very emotional, i finally got to see the nurse. 
(They didn't even get my blood results and had no idea why i was there....)

So I sat down with the nurse and she continued to tell me what Gestational Diabetes is..

Gestational Diabetes is a type of diabetes that pregnant women can develop in their second or third trimester, basically your body is working 5 times as hard being pregnant and giving the baby what it needs that the pancreas isn't able to secrete insulin as fast as its needed.. in result you develop pregnancy diabetes.
This generally goes away as soon as the baby is born.

The nurse then explained that Pregnant woman with diabetes tend to have bigger babies and can have babies with health risks. But if its controlled, baby and mother are as healthy as can be.

She then went on to tell me i'l have to test my bloods seven times a day, with a little diabetic machine thing (Have no idea what its called LOL)

By this stage I was getting so overwhelmed that all what she was saying was going in one ear and out the other. I was about to burst out crying really.
I didn't think that I could be a diabetic that I starting to doubt the results and believed that it was all a misunderstanding! 

The dietician then came in to talk to me about the diet I will be on, basically its near enough what I would eat, but just no sugar and fatty foods. 
And to do some daily exercise.

I was then put on a 'test' week to see how my body would react to just diet and exercise, and to see if I needed insulin.
I didn't tell anyone at this point because I was still trying to get my head around it.
I wasn't in any type of mood for people given none effective advise or even telling me what I can or can't eat while I was eating around them. So I kept it to myself until I was comfortable.
(Pietro ovbiously knew because he was there the whole time...)

During this week, It was like I was scared to eat. I was over-thinking everything which ended up putting me off food.. (Which wasn't the best thing)
Scared incase what I was eating was hurting the baby and doing damage.
I eventually went to do a 'diabetic' shopping trip LOL.

Spend about two hours in the store, reading and figuring out what was good, and what was bad.
Didn't cost as much as I was expecting THANK GOD!

So knowing that I had food to eat in the house, I became less stressed and more comfortable with the idea of change.
I then started to tell people, close friends, family...

The week flew by, And it was time to go in to meet the doctor. Pietro was working so my sister came along for support! I was nervous as hell, I didn't know what to expect, what he was going to say.. And I didn't know if I had to take insulin or not.

I saw the nurse first.. blood pressure, weight etc was checked. everything was perfect.
And then went to see the doctor.

And to my surprise he agreed that I didn't need to take insulin, that diet and exercise was going great for me :D
To my relief! 

So right now, I still have to test my blood sugars seven times a day.
Before a meal, and an hour after. and then before bedtime.

The diet isn't at all bad, it was limits you to grabbing what in the fridge or eating out.
College food isn't that great so I'm trying to bring in my own lunch which is hard... since I can't even remember my head some mornings ;)

So I thought id share this pregnancy symptom since it was a big deal to me, and anyone can go through it really. 
I didn't expect this to happen when I became pregnant but I guess you can't predict everything.
Its still over-whelming at times but I think I'm handling it good.

Thanks so much for reading :)
Aisling xo